[Brew Review] Choc Beer – Belgian-Style Dubbel = A

So I guess going to the Drunk Monk Fest, got me in the Belgian mood, I don’t know. But a good Dubbel sounded like it was the only thing that was going to hit the spot this weekend. So I decided to go with one of my favorite Oklahoma beers and pick up a bomber from our very own, award winning, Choc Beer Company, I went with the Belgian-Style Dubbel, part of their Signature Series [22 oz., 8% abv….better make an afternoon out of this one.]

This is the description printed on the bottle:

The Belgian-Style Dubbel is a beer style crafted by and made famous by the Trappist Monks of Belgium. Our version is a deep ruby red and malty with just enough phenols and esters from the belgian yeast to bring the complex flavors from a beer of this style into balance.

I poured a sample into my goblet, serving temperature was around 50°- this one is better a bit warm.

Apperance = The color was a nice dark amber color, with a bit more orange showing when held up to the light.

Aroma = After swirling the drink around the glass, I smelled sweet malt, and a big candied sugar aroma.

Taste = First thing that I notice, is the big candied sugar flavors, then some caramel and toffee sweetness. I get a tangy, like a green apple peel taste kind of in the background of the brew, Im guessing this is from the yeast, but im no expert. Also pick up some plumb flavors as well, which tastes really good. Finishes with a nice sweetness, without going over the top. Also I notice a bit of spiciness there in the finish, I think maybe cloves, its pretty faint to me.

Mouthfeel = It has a pretty nice thick, sticky smooth, medium mouthfeel, which I love. This one is also pretty highly carbonated.

Overall=  This is a really nice Dubbel, and my favorite Choc Beer. Glad this one is made locally, which allows me to pick up a fine Belgian Style brew for around $5.50 -$6 a bomber. What a deal! I can’t think of a better way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon, then working my way through this beer.

I encourage you to seek this beer out, try it for yourself and let us know what you think. Support your local brewery and beer shop!

OBR Review = A

~ by OkieBrewReview on August 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “[Brew Review] Choc Beer – Belgian-Style Dubbel = A”

  1. This is a very good beer – Michael and Joe hit a homer with this one. I was just down in Krebs a couple of weeks ago and they were down to their last four cases in the warehouse (which I presume were for the Drunk Monk.) I informed Joe they need to get cracking on a new batch – my friends are wanting more!

  2. […] You can check out my review of this award winning beer here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
