Vote in BeerAdvocate’s “HomeTown ThrowDown”

•January 27, 2010 • Leave a Comment

This contests is from the owners over at BeerAdvocate:

This is a great opportunity for our state. The Oklahoma beer scene is exactly what they are looking for, so email the the owners of the site and tell them why they should come here. This would be great publicity for our emerging beer scene.

If your not a member of Beer Advocate, sign up! its free!

Here is a link to the actual post, but the information is listed below.


BeerAdvocate’s “HomeTown ThrowDown” – Tell us where to go next!

Inspired by our recent trip to Alaska where we met/experienced one of the best beer communities on planet Earth, we threw the following challenge at BeerAdvocate magazine Issue #36 readers and thought we’d do the same online.

The idea is simple: we’ve acknowledged that we need to travel more for beer. Not necessarily the larger beer cities, but rather unexplored and emerging beer scenes.

So …

In 150 words or less, tell us why we should come to your hometown for beer. The most convincing, passionate entry will result in our actually coming out to your hometown for beer, visiting your local breweries and beer bars, and of course you helping us to host an official BA gathering–plus other exciting fun.

Upon further thought post-printing, of course we’d do our best to also promote your local beer scene, help tell its story, create some content for the mag/website, etc. We’re totally open to ideas too.

Feel free to post here, email, or beer mail us. No deadline, yet. You just need to be a BA member or mag subscriber.

(And time/budget pending, we hope to do this more than once.)

Cheers, good luck, and we look forward to hoisting some brews in your hometown!


[Event] COOP Ale Works 1 Year Anniversary Open House

•January 5, 2010 • Leave a Comment

[Brew Review] COOP Ale Works – Oak Aged Imperial Stout – A

•December 3, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Finally, after patiently waiting for over 5 months now, the day has arrived! The day I can finally try COOP Ale Works latest seasonal beer. An Oak Aged Imperial Stout, available on draft only, and in limited quantities. Now for the review…

Territorial Reserve – Oak Aged Imperial Stout – on draft at Coach’s in Norman. About 14 oz Served in a Stella Artois glass. $6.50. 9% ABV. Rating = A

First off all, this beer is, as you would expect, just as black as black can be, you really have to work hard to get any kind of sliver of brown around the top edge. The head was tan, and just barely there.

The aroma was a big roasted barley smell at first, but as it warmed up a bit, there was a slight, alcohol smell to it, I really expected more for the high ABV though.

The flavor, again, was the roasted barley upfront. Finishes on the sweeter side of dry, but its not cloyingly sweet by any means. Coffee flavor also, like a dark espresso. This Impy Stout is not a hoppy beer, but it does have a bitterness to it, more like you get from dark chocolates or coffee. I know this was aged on oak, and you know its in there when you drink it, but it doesn’t make a huge appearance, which is good, I was worried with it being pretty young still, it might be overly oaked, but not so, there is just enough to smooth this puppy out. This beer does not have a long harsh or bitter aftertaste, but the roasted barley hangs around for a while. Again, I did expect this might be a little hot with it being such a high alcohol beer and being really fresh, but no, it’s extremely well balanced, not easy to do with a beer like this. The alcohol did seem to come through more in the last 1/4 of the glass however, but overall the 9% abv is hidden very well. It was more on the thicker side of medium for mouthfeel, not a huge thick, sticky stout.

Overall, I would rate this a solid ‘A’, great offering from the guys at COOP, this is a home run for the Oklahoma Beer scene. But seriously, bottle this gold, or at least let me bring in a few growlers and fill them up!🙂 Already can’t wait for the next edition of this beer, when they will be aging it for a year, instead of the only 4-5 months this one had.

Be sure to go out and try this beer ASAP, before its all gone…..On second thought, take some friends and split a glass – and leave more for me!

You can check out the interview I did with Head Brewer Chase Healey about this beer here.

Left Hand Brewing Company Releases New Seasonal – Fade To Black

•November 17, 2009 • 1 Comment

LONGMONT, CO (Nov 2009) – One-hundred thirty-four days of blackness. Three thousand, two hundred and sixteen hours before the clocks are switched again. Welcome to Fade to Black. That time of year when the day seems to fade away. Drifting further into the darkness with each passing day.

And welcome to Fade to Black, a new seasonal beer already fraught with controversy. Is it a Winter Beer, a Christmas beer, a Holiday beer, what exactly is it? Does it have spices? Is it a dark beer? What style is it?

Fade to Black ties into that time of year when we fall backwards an hour, this year from November 1st until March 14th. Creatively brewed to pair with shorter, darker days, Fade to Black is a Foreign Stout that pours black with notes of licorice, espresso beans, molasses, and black cardamom notes. Its 8.5% ABV gives way to a feeling of self loathing, burnt opportunities and smoked relationships. And like “some late visitor entreating entrance at your chamber door”, six different malts and two different hop varieties create the “darkness there, and nothing more.”

And as we eventually creep back to brighter days, leaving the shadowy hours behind, so too, will this year’s Fade to Black be gone. For each and every year the style will change, but the name will remain the same. So, for this year’s Foreign Stout, to quoth the brewer, “Nevermore”.

Check out the awesome label here

Available in 6 packs and kegs, and distributed throughout Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Kansas, Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan (western only), Wisconsin, Minnesota, Missouri, Illinois, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, New York, Alaska, Washington, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee (Nashville only), Georgia, North Carolina, and select European countries.

Ad Age: What Your Taste in Beer Says About You

•November 6, 2009 • 3 Comments

YORK, Pa. ( — The beer you drink says a lot about you — even before you’ve had a few too many.

Your choice of beer can be as telling about your personality as what kind of clothing you wear or the car that you drive. And if you don’t drink suds at all, or change brands depending on your mood — well, that says something too.

Read the full article here.

But here is their take on craft beer drinkers….

These specialty made beers get lumped into one category both because there are fewer fans (and thus less statistically significant data) of them, but also because the personalities of one type fairly well describe another. This group is more likely to spend time thinking about beer rather than work. They are more open-minded than most people, seek out interesting and varied experiences and are intellectually curious. Craft-beer drinkers also skew as having a lower sense of responsibility–they don’t stress about missed deadlines and tend to be happy-go-lucky about life.

Craft-beer lovers are 153% more likely to always buy organic, 52% more likely to be fans of the show “The Office” and 36% more likely to be the ones to choose the movie they are going to see at the theater

[Event] Tulsa First Draft, Fri. Nov 6th @Blue Dome Diner

•November 3, 2009 • Leave a Comment

[Brew Review] Battered Boar’s, Company Man Pale Ale = C

•October 28, 2009 • 3 Comments

So, this will be my first review of a Battered Boar product, and really looking forward to what this new brewery has to offer!

This review is from a 12 oz. bottle. And is an American Pale Ale, with 8% ABV.

Poured a dark amber-copper color, and is much darker than I would expect an APA to be, with a 3 finger white head.

Aroma is pretty sweet, caramel malts, with some grassy hops smell, and Im also smelling the alcohol more then I want to.

Taste, is pretty much alcohol forward, and finishing pretty sweet, again with an alcohol bite in the back of my throat. But underneath all of that I can detect some citrus hops, and maybe a little bit of fruity esters like an apple peel.

Mouthfeel was acceptable, and is medium bodied, and almost sticky.

Overall, at 8% abv, I would call this an IPA. But the hops are not amped up enough to be labeled as such. Really too sweet and and too much alcohol bite for me. When I sit down to drink an American Pale Ale, I look forward, to sitting back and having a few pints, and this is not a beer I feel that I could do that with.

But this at least shows promise, and as this is from the first batch produced, I expected that there might need to be some tweeking of the recipes before its all said and done. I won’t give up hope for this brewery, I think with some more time under there belt and getting use to the new equipment, they will knock out some quality brews.

I would still encourage everyone to pick this up and try it out for yourself, and let me know what you think.

OBR Rating: C